Fossoway and District Community Council

Scottish Community Councils date from 1976, when they were established after the Local Government Act of 1973. Community Councils are elected by the community. The remit of Community Councils is to give communities a voice. Community Councillors are not engaged in party politics- they act on behalf of the community.

What does Fossoway and District Community Council (FDCC) do?

The main focus of FDCC is the monthly public meeting. FDCC takes the phrase ‘local democracy’ very seriously and therefore has meetings in all four communities that are part of the Fossoway District: Crook of Devon, Powmill, Blairingone and Carnbo. We try to have representatives of each community in the Community Council. Local issues, brought to our attention are on the agenda of each meeting. The Community Police Officer will –if possible- attend and report on policing matters. We deal with correspondence and planning matters. All planning applications are discussed: If appropriate the Community Council will object to, or comment on, a planning applications with an eye on the wider issues, and will take into account the local feeling about an application. Although the Community Council's objection to a planning application only counts as one objection towards the six required by Perth and Kinross Council before an application is sent to Committee, the Community Council's opinion is treated with more significance as it represents the wider views of the community.

Our remit is wide and varied: we deal with dog waste and litter bins in one meeting, with T-in-the-Park and multi-million pound planning applications in the next: no meeting is the same, no meeting is boring.

What does a Community Councillor do?

To be a Community Councillor you have to live in the area of the FDCC and be eligible to vote for the Community Council. The minimum commitment is to attend the monthly meetings and to contribute to the Community Council when needed. Most of us attend other meetings as a Community Councillor: A977 mitigation measures, Kinross-shire Fund, Sports Hub, and other, more ad-hoc meetings. Most of the Councillors have a special interest: planning, roads, etc. Office bearers have of course special duties: Chair, Treasurer, Secretary.

What do you get out of being a Community Councillor?

Being a Community Councillor is a voluntary position, although expenses are paid. It is a wonderful opportunity to contribute to your environment and community and to make a change for the better. Being a Community Councillor can be frustrating sometimes, but when things work (for example improvements for our community in the T-in-the-Park organisation; Keep the Post Office Campaign, A977 Mitigation measures) it is enormously rewarding. It also is a way to meet a wide variety of people whom you would never have met otherwise; and to see our villages in a different light.

What can you do to help us?

Stand for Community Councillor: one term is three years and you will work in a very pro-active and welcoming team. If being a Community Councillor is not for you, still come to our meetings and let us know what you think! Talk to us about the issues that worry you, and what you think needs to be done to make our villages vibrant and sustainable communities. We will listen!

Community Councillors

Name Office Area
Sara Bruce-Jones Secretary Drum
Angus Cheape Kinross-shire Fund Fossoway
Trudy Duffy-Wigman Chair & Data Controller Crook of Devon
Carol Farquhar Powmill Bloom Group & Sports Hub Powmill
Carole Haigh Crook of Devon
Michael Haigh Crook of Devon
Nicola Marchant Vice Chair & Planning Secretary Rumbling Bridge
Graham Pye Treasurer & Minute Secretary Blaringone

You can contact the Council Members by emailing:

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License